My New Puppy Diary

Just another WordPress.com site

5 month old pit bull

Hi WordPress!  I don’t have much to talk about this week as it is more of the same.  My babies are a spoiled-rotten, 5 month old pit bull puppy and her lap-happy, 3-year-old (technically 18 years old) father.  At times it is a lot of work living with 2 very energetic dogs in an apartment; but I wouldn’t have it any other way.  Dasia and Cyrus are worth it!  They play beautifully together, eat side-by-side, share toys,  and sleep together on his bed– if they’re not in my bed.  They are inseparable.  I expected them to get along but not like this.  Cyrus is extremely tolerant of Dasia.  She is always jumping on him, biting his legs, standing overtop of him, and humping him (show of dominance),  99% of the time he just lets her do it.

Typically I have nothing but good things to say about Dasia; however, lately she has been testing my patience.  Dasia took to territorial peeing on the carpet when Cyrus came to live with us, and it hasn’t exactly stopped.  She is still trying to eat everything she encounters outside.  She pulls while on the leash (mainly when I walk her with Cyrus).  If Cyrus is around she will bark at other dogs, though she is not aggressive.

As far as Cyrus (her father), he is a little dog aggressive which makes taking him to the dog park a task-and-a-half.  He tries to pull me to the fenced in area where the dogs are playing, and once we get to the fence he barks his nasty bark.  I’ve learned to scope the dog park first to make sure there is an empty play area.  I would like to stop the dog aggression so I will be buying him a muzzle, and slowly introducing him to the play area when other dogs are there.  Having him muzzled will ensure he won’t/can’t do any harm to another pet.

I am working with my babies to correct the unwanted behavior, and I’m happy to report that we are making progress!

Training/Exercise/Playtime/Socialization:
Training is going well.  Dasia knows all of the basic commands and obeys them pretty well for 5 month old puppy… sit, down, stay, come, lay-down, go, back-up, and no.  Although Dasia and Cyrus knows and obeys the commands I still continue training, reinforcing what they’ve been taught.  Exercise comes in many different forms, playtime with toys indoors, playdates with Roxy, walks around the neighborhood and trips to the dog park.  Honestly I feel the dog park is the best form of exercise.  Dasia and Cyrus get to run at their pace, and play outside without being tethered to a leash.  The dog park is also a great way to socialize Dasia.  She loves other dogs, and is rather submissive outside of the house.

On Friday, Dasia goes to the vet to get spayed.  I have a little anxiety about the proceedure, and my husband doesn’t want her fixed yet.  Even so, she will be at the vet at 7am.  I don’t want to risk her getting out, mating and then I’m stuck with 5-10 puppies.  Nope, it’s not gonna happen.  I would love to mate Dasia because I think she’d have beautiful puppies, but that is way too much work.  And besides there are so many dogs in shelters that are in need of good, loving homes.

It’s time for dinner so I will leave you with a brief video clip.

March 27, 2012 - Posted by | My Puppy, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Attractive portion of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to claim that I acquire in fact loved account your weblog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing on your augment and even I achievement you get admission to persistently fast.

    Comment by Sherdog | March 31, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

